Event: Pillars for Peace: Women, Peace & Security
19-11-2021

When a nation is moving from conflict to stability, the signing of peace accords is just the first step on a long road of implementation that must involve all sectors of society.

Ensuring that women participate at every stage of that conflict resolution and reconciliation process has been shown to contribute to a longer-lasting and more sustainable peace.

However women have often not been included in decision-making forums and their participation has not been meaningfully supported by international and national actors. This needs to change.

To explore this crucial topic, The Netherlands Institute for Multiparty Democracy, as part of the LEAP4Peace Consortium, is delighted to invite you to the launch of its new paper, Pillars for Peace: Women, Peace and Security.

With the Gender Action For Peace and Security, we will be co-chairing two panel events to mark the paper’s launch:

Wednesday 1st December 2021

First online panel: 09:00 UTC / 10:00 CET (Register here)
Speakers include:
❖ May Sabe Phyu, Gender Equality Network (GEN) Myanmar
❖ Marguerite Bukuru, Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue
❖ Petra Stienen, Member of the Dutch Senate

Second online panel: 15:00 UTC / 16:00 CET (Register here)
Speakers include:
❖ Jezmi Barraza, Congresswoman, Colombia
❖ Lister Chapman, UN Women

Please join the event that suits your time zone best; however, all are welcome at both as there will be different speakers at each event.

Click here to register for First Panel at 09:00 UTC / 10:00 CET

Click here to register for Second Panel at 15:00 UTC / 16:00 CET

Translation will be available in English, Spanish and French.

LEAP4Peace logo